Fall Cleaning

My very favorite season smashed up against one of my least favorite activities. It seems offensive. But alas, if one wants to properly decorate for Halloween with all the wondrous things one has pinned to one’s I Heart Halloween, one must clean, mustn’t… one? Too much.

Just after I wrote that, Shelby came in from outside with the really cool insectarium we got at a garage sale. She was very excited to have her first resident. She said she’d caught a “baby bee!” so I was kinda like Say whaaaat? She showed me her new BFF, and behold, it was a hornet! Dead, of course, but still! The only bee sting I’ve ever gotten was when I stepped on a dead bee, and it didn’t tickle. So anyway, I tell her what her little friend really is, and that he is no longer with us, and I get this face:

                                     This is the “all my friends are dead” face

She then walked off and lamented “I FINALLY get an insect and he’s dead! DEAD! I thought he was just passed out!… I’m going to keep him, to show the others.”

Me: “As a warning of what is to come if they don’t keep in line?”

Shelby: “No, like a sculpture. But dead.”

Alrighty then.

It’s hard to do anything in a messy house, especially decorate for a holiday, extra especially for the second most awesome holiday. I’ve even made a deal with Shelby to help: She does everything on her list, and we’ll start construction on our paper mache Fiji mermaids! She’s been (not quite weird-kid-in-the-neighborhood) obsessed with the idea of the Fiji mermaid after seeing one on Oddities on the Science channel (looooove that channel- that bundle is worth the extra $5 a month). She drew a picture of a three-headed specimen and it hangs proudly on our fridge, right next to a picture of her dad in Dublin and the number to a good child therapist. She’ll be making her deluxe version, while I’ll be making the standard PT Barnum gaffe-style mermaid. I can’t wait, I love paper mache. Glad I stocked up on Elmer’s glue during back-to-school sale season!

Enough about dead wasps and phony sideshow staples, on to the list-making!

Mom’s List:

  • Make coffee
  • Blog
  • Pick up kitchen
  • Unload dishwasher
  • Reload dishwasher
  • Scrub sink & fixtures

*Insert 30 minute telephone conversation with my grandparents here*

  • Clean stove
  • Wipe counters
  • Take out trash
  • Take decor off of counter/bar
  • Pick up living room
  • Pledge tables
  • Vacuum
  • Sweep
  • Fold clothes
  • Put away clothes
  • Pick up bathroom
  • Pick up bedroom

My goal today is to get the kitchen and living areas clean enough to decorate, I got (mostly) caught up on laundry yesterday and did all the ironing. Everything else is extra credit work, all gold stars redeemable for pinot grigio. And yes, that was a shameless pat on the back back there.

Shelby’s List:

  • Pick up all scraps of stuff/ stuff cat has adopted and strewn about
  • Pick up everything belonging to her/ stuff she left out
  • Dust tables
  • Dust fireplace
  • Pick up all toys and books in her bedroom (and put them WHERE THEY GO)
  • Help Mom when asked

Ambitious, but it is with ambition that great things are achieved! Or messy houses are made less messy. Something momentous like that.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

