Thirty Six Weeks and Five Days Later…

The birds are singing, the sun is shining, it’s a crisp 64 degrees outside and I’m drinking a homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte

. It’s like Spring and Summer never happened.

Ah, but they did! In the time since we last read of our heroine (that’s me), we moved into a log cabin in the woods (no, really); I was was stricken deathly ill for many months (I’m all better now!); The Baby was in a movie (Indeed! I’ll post clips later on); I started working at a popular Wing & Beer franchise (and stopped losing weight…); and started fantasizing about building my own sassy bow empire (read: Spending obscene amounts of money at Hobby Lobby on ribbon and rhinestones).

That’s kind of a lot. I’ll address the afore mentioned plot points as it seems reasonable to do so in upcoming posts.

Gawd, I missed this. Sitting here at my computers (elaboration forthcoming), drinking coffee, typing, letting my train of thought plow ahead at full steam to it’s rambling, caffeine-fueled and oft-times random end. Kittens.

To clarify that plural computer comment, the way I’ve gotten the MAC to agree to work- which was the numero uno reason this blog came to a screeching halt- is The Husband got a Dell monitor on eBay for cheap and hooked it up to the laptop, which worked fine except for the screen. No nerd [that didn’t have to be paid] could figure out how to remedy that situation, so the 21st Century version of a TV with working sound sitting on top of a TV with working picture has been brought to life on my desk. I also now have a desk. (It was my MIL’s when she was a teacher and we’ve had it for as long as we’ve been married, I’ve just never used it. Waste not want not and all that!)

So, yeah. Here we are. Wednesdays are now my day off (along with weekends, for childcare purposes) since the violin program Shelby was in last year has picked up again this year, and I need to be able to go to the school and be present for it. I’m going to try to update here at least on Wednesday mornings. I guess I could get up extra early all the other days, but Lord that sounds just awful, so maybe not. Baby steps, here.

Now, to get back in the groove. First, a recipe; then, a list. Yea! I feel like the old me again!

Homemade Low-Fat(ish) Pumpkin Spice Lattes

  • One can of plain pumpkin (not pie filling, at least not for this particular recipe)
  • Local honey- or whatever honey you use
  • Apple pie spice
  • Vanilla cappuccino powder
  • Hot coffee- we’re using a New Orleans brand Southern Pecan, I forget which one

Mix the pumpkin with the honey and spice to taste. Add two tablespoons to a mug with about a tablespoon of the cappuccino mix, pour in the coffee and stir. The pumpkin kind of melts into the coffee, which I was glad about. I like pumpkin, but not enough to slurp sludge made of it off the bottom of a mug. Gag. So, enjoy that!

Now, the list! This is my day off, after all, so it will be decidedly lacking in the actual chore department. And, with me bringing home a little bit of bacon- often in the form of Mango Habanero wings- Dustin has begun doing quite a bit around the house on his days off. He had two in a row, and yesterday I came home to zero dirty laundry, a clean kitchen and floors that smelled like Pinesol. If this keeps going, I may be pregnant before the year is out.

Anyway, here we go:

  • Make delicious coffee
  • Feed the animals
  • Blow the dust off of TEA, work on getting groove back
  • Clean office area
  • Search Pinterest for the very best desk organization ideas
  • USE IDEAS TO ORGANIZE DESK
  • Organize bow-making supplies
  • Bring trash can back from road (ah, country life)
  • (What little bit of) Laundry (there is)
  • Fold laundry
  • Hang clothes
  • Put away clean clothes (I hate laundry, so it counts as two)
  • Make self presentable
  • Go to violin practice
  • Make a few bows at newly beautiful desk

[Edited to reflect what got done. Holla!]

There you have it, folks! A fresh new blog post from your favorite, slightly patinated* blog. Have a wonderful day!

*This is the adjective derivative of the word ‘patina’. Who knew, right?

Oo, also, I forgot I needed to add a picture. So here’s some advice:

Well, it’s true, ain’t it?

One response to “Thirty Six Weeks and Five Days Later…

  1. Am so trying your pumpkin spice recipe – grocery store tomorrow, so that’s going on my list 🙂
    ~h

Leave a Reply

