Playing Catch Up & Author Today

Busy, busy morning here in the the Badassery Household (yes, that is totally our real last name. It’s Lithuanian), so I’m getting off to a late start with today’s post. I may or may not have also gotten sidetracked at Happy Place.

Broth Watch 2012 is coming to an end today. The liquid is dark and rich, the bones are crumbly, and if I have to smell this f*cking broth anymore without being able to taste it I’m gonna flip my shit. And I’m pretty much out of containers to store it. All in all, I think this was a very well spent three days, as far as clear soup making goes. According to the originator of this recipe, it’s taken about $3 worth of electricity, but I’d have thrown out the roasted chicken bones and skin, and spent more than that on far less canned broth, so it’s worked out well.

I didn’t get everything on my list done yesterday because I ended up having to go see about septic permits in order to get electricity turned on at the cabin, go to the post office, etc. Therefore I’ll have to recycle a few things. I will however be lighting a fire under my own lovely derriere and am committed to finishing a short story today that I like very much. I may give a synopsis here when it’s done, but that’s it, as it is part of what I’d like to publish by the end of the year, and I really want your .99 cents for the digital download.

I know I’ve been going on and on about writing lately, but I just can’t help it. I love it. And I’m all fired up. Very seldom do I get fired up enough to actually act on it and continue to act on it, and that is how fired up I have been this week. I am so incredibly blessed to be surrounded with a concentrated group of truly talented individuals, and it’s very exciting. I feel like a pageant toddler on pixie stix, just all jazzed up and sparkly and ready to get stuff done! And get money. And maybe a crown. Totally a crown.

Why yes, yes I am wearing this to Wal-Mart.

In order to do all that though, I need to get this house picked up. For inspiration, I’ll be popping over to Lovely Living for a few minutes, a lovely little blog I’ve been following off and on for a couple of years and have always found motivational. (While fetching the link I glanced through today’s topic, which is emergency preparedness, although the correct name for it is Zombie Preparedness. It’s a common error.) So, here we go:

  • Run vinegar through the coffee pot
  • Remember to run clean water through the coffee pot
  • Unload dishwasher
  • Reload dishwasher
  • Clean sink
  • Wipe down stove
  • Take out trash
  • Clean counters
  • Pick up general kitchen area
  • Fake organize my computer area
  • Pick up all the crap Dustin unloaded from his duty bag and left on the buffet
  • Laundry, with an emphasis on uniforms
  • Fold clothes
  • Polish [until very shiny and award worthy] Survivor Girl [working title that I do not like for this story but am using because it’s simple]
One response to “Playing Catch Up & Author Today

  1. ” I feel like a pageant toddler on pixie stix, just all jazzed up and sparkly and ready to get stuff done! And get money. And maybe a crown. Totally a crown.”

    I want to feel like this every day!! Bwahahahaha!
    {taps chin} Now where did I put the kids ADHD medication???…
    (just kidding; I already ate it all)
    ~h

Leave a Reply

