The Arrival of Edgar, And Preparations For Departure

A very nice title indeed.

So yeah, the guy in the Edgar Suit (the exterminator) is coming today, so in addition to all the things I need to do to get us ready for the road in the am, I have to finish up the things I didn’t do yesterday. I did get a good portion of that stuff done, actually. (Especially Xbox time, I rocked that one.) But then I went and made gumbo and bread from scratch, so now I have to re-do all the kitchen stuff, and that’s an extra load of dishes. We should have done cereal. The gumbo sure was good though.

As far as preparatory measures regarding travel, I totally forgot to finish one hand made gift that I’d actually been really excited about, which really sets me back. I was in the art room trying to organize the gifts for wrapping today, and came across a box of Nilla Wafers. For a moment I thought “Ooo, free Nilla Wafers!” But then I remembered, there is no such thing as free Nilla Wafers. They’re for my stepdad, and are supposed to go in a box that looks like it’s used for keeping manure. It’s for hiding cookies, which he likes to do. Don’t judge me, at least three people thought that was hilarious.

I did a Google Image search for a related picture, but then Google gave me this and I forgot what I was searching for.

In addition to all that, I have to carve out some time to leave the house and make copies of pictures of Shelby, to be framed and given as gifts- one of the perks of having an exceptionally gorgeous child, getting to totally cheap-out on gifts. It’s been a long life, so I think I’ll also get a Sonic drink while I’m out.

So anyway, there we go. Oh, also, I meant to add earlier but don’t feel like scrolling and editing,  that bread I made. It really is fantastic. And really simple. I’m trying to figure out how to have a category separate from the regular blog entries that I can dump tons of great recipes I use into, without disrupting the flow of the day-to-day blog. Once I get that down, I’ll let y’all know. Well, I must be off. A productive day to you all!

  • Make coffee
  • Laundry
  • Pick up kitchen
  • Wipe counters
  • Unload dishwasher
  • Reload dishwasher
  • Clean sink
  • Pick up living room
  • Fold clothes
  • Put away clothes
  • Make sure guest room is still intact
  • Move all garage sale clothes to guest room (trust me, there are a lot)
  • Make Shelby’s bed
  • Pick up our bedroom
  • Make our bed
  • Take out bathroom trash
  • Finish Charley’s cookie box
  • Get Sonic drink
  • Make photo copies at Walgreens
  • Wrap presents
  • Clean out car
  • Begin packing suitcase
  • Clean Francois’ hutch
  • Clean Mikey’s bowl

And Dustin’s adorable little list looks like this:

  • Pick up Wreck (Rec) Room
  • Sweep
  • Vacuum rug
  • Clean Henry

Equality ladies! The right to vote, wear pants and not wash the dog. I’m livin’ the Susan B. Anthony dream.

2 responses to “The Arrival of Edgar, And Preparations For Departure

  1. This may be your best post thus far. I’m loving your definition of equality. You keep on not washing that dog, babe. It’s the very incarnation of the dream our suffragette ancestors fought for.
    ~h

  2. Precisely! I believe our Sisters in Arms would be pleased.

    I’ve gotten 16 things done so far, and Dustin has done all but washed Henry. I am truly amazed! I should wake him up with the sounds of cleaning more often. Poor thing didn’t even get a good morning. When he emerged, I just pointed at his list and said I’d make the coffee once he got started.

    That’s how you do it- Withhold pleasure and sh*t gets done.

Leave a Reply

